Louisville Native vs Louisville Transplant

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.16.16 PM

 

Laura was born and raised in Louisville.

She is currently serving her year as a VISTA at The Food Literacy Project.

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.16.25 PM

 

Lauren is from Indianapolis originally, but has lived in Louisville for 4 years.

She is currently serving her year as a VISTA at Americana World Community Center.

 

 

These two decided to give their differing perspectives on a city that they both truly love.

FAVORITE RESTAURANT

Louisville Native:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.16.39 PM

LAURA: Right now, it’s Eiderdown, which has great German cuisine, and it’s in Germantown/Schnitzelburg! I also love a slice of pizza from the Post, which is down the street! For BBQ- Feast is a must. I love to order Feast to go and walk over to Akasha Brewing and play games, eat BBQ, and sip on some local brews.

 

Louisville Transplant:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.16.53 PM

Lauren: I can go for a delicious burger any day of the week and my favorite burger in town is at Grind. The delicious sides, like roasted brussel sprouts, make the splurge to a burger not seem as indulgent.

 

FAVORITE BREWERY

Louisville Native:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.17.03 PM

Laura: Cumberland Brewery has cheap, quality brews and is within walking distance of my house! Though, Holy Grale has an incredibly delicious selection, repping unique and cool breweries across the world.

 

Louisville Transplant:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.17.15 PM

Lauren: My favorite brewery is Against the Grain: not only are they an awesome stop before Louisville City Football Club games (Lou’s soccer team is 3rd in their division, you need to go to a game!) but their brews are on point as well as sometimes they brew root beers and sodas, so everyone can enjoy a craft brew!

 

FAVORITE WORKOUT

Louisville Native:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.17.29 PM

Laura: If you consider yoga a workout, I looooooooooove 502 Power Yoga. I do a work-exchange, so I work a few hours a week cleaning and doing laundry for the studio in exchange for classes. The yoga is challenging and upbeat, and the community is WONDAAAAAFUL!

 

Louisville Transplant:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.17.41 PM

Lauren: I seriously fell in love with Climb Nulu immediately. I have been climbing for 4 years, but genuinely love the atmosphere, the community as well, and the workout: it’s mentally and physically challenging.

 

FAVORITE ANNUAL EVENT

Louisville Native:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.17.50 PM

Laura: Forecastle. I have gone every year since I was in High School. No matter who is playing, it is such a fun, Louisville-lovefest.

 

Louisville Transplant:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.18.01 PM

Lauren: Ok, so mine isn’t an annual, but actually more of a monthly event, but I love Flea Off Market. If you want seriously chill flea market atmosphere and awesome food trucks, this free event is worth the trip.

 

FAVORITE PARK:

Louisville Native:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.18.14 PM

Laura: I love Seneca and Iroquois Parks, but my favorite park is Morton Street Unofficial Dog Park, even though I do not have a dog, it is a wonderful place.

 

Louisville Transplant:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 3.18.25 PM

Lauren: I fell in love with the parks in Louisville, but seriously love Cherokee park. My favorite memory here was watching my first Thunder Over Louisville, specifically the Fireworks show, from the 3rd green on the golf course, as I’m not one for loud noises. Fun fact: Fredrick Law Olmstead designed many of the parks in Louisville in addition to the grounds at the Biltmore.

Leave a Reply

